ssj100 Security Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Windows 7 and SUA

3 posters

Go down

Windows 7 and SUA Empty Windows 7 and SUA

Post by Ruhe 17/4/2010, 00:59

ssj100, you as LUA expert, can you give me an explanation?

As I've told in the Sandboxie forum, I'm using Dropbox. The software will be installed in c:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Dropbox. There is no way to change the path during installation.

So far I'm running admin. After changing my account to a standard user account (this way), logging out and in again, Dropbox seems to think I'm a different user (?) now and starts the initial process to enter my username and password, like it does after a fresh installation of Dropbox.
Ruhe
Ruhe
Valued Member
Valued Member

Back to top Go down

Windows 7 and SUA Empty Re: Windows 7 and SUA

Post by ssj100 17/4/2010, 02:24

I'm not an expert haha, but I can try to help.

So you're saying that you stripped your admin account to a Standard account (Method 2)? If so, that's not how I would do it. Method 1 is far superior and safer. I'm not totally sure about Windows 7, but Method 2 in Windows XP would result in some files/folders having admin rights...which defeats the purpose of running as a limited user.

I'm not sure why Dropbox would think you are a different user, since you're effectively using the same account, except that it's been (apparently) stripped down to a limited account. However, as mentioned above, stripping an admin account to a limited account can be messy.

I know that if you used Method 1, Dropbox would of course start the initial process of entering your username etc, since you would be on a different account.