ssj100 Security Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

DefenseWall pitfalls

2 posters

Go down

DefenseWall pitfalls Empty DefenseWall pitfalls

Post by ssj100 22/12/2010, 04:26

My first ever upload to youtube. Apologies in advance for horrible quality (it's a bit more visually bearable on the youtube site itself):

ssj100
ssj100
Administrator
Administrator

https://ssj100.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

DefenseWall pitfalls Empty Re: DefenseWall pitfalls

Post by p2u 22/12/2010, 10:44

Good initiative! Thanks.

I've been pointing out this problem for a couple of years now, but Ilya has a standard reply: "I don't see how images and text files may hurt the system". Unless you give him a working exploit, he probably won't change this behavior.
P.S.: Although I respect Illya both as a pro and as a person, I find it rather disturbing to see that for almost every major escalation problem in Windows, he has to alter his code. In standard situations he is probably right, but Windows has so many backdoors planted in, that a targeted attack against DefenseWall may not be hard to accomplish.

Paul

p2u
Valued Member
Valued Member

Back to top Go down

Post by ssj100 22/12/2010, 10:55

Thanks for the comments p2u. I too attempted to point out those problems on the DefenseWall forums over a year ago and I ended up getting IP banned for a year. Mind you, it wasn't Ilya that banned me.

Ilya provides some of the best support out there and I generally support his cause - why else would I be so interested in his program?