ssj100 Security Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Firefox Add-on: NoScript

4 posters

Go down

Firefox Add-on: NoScript Empty Firefox Add-on: NoScript

Post by ssj100 19/4/2010, 13:58

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/722

Who here uses NoScript for Firefox? I haven't mentioned it in my security setup/approach, but I have been using NoScript for several years. It almost feels wrong to surf the internet without NoScript.

demoneye was just chatting to me about scripted keyloggers ( http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?DetectingKeyLoggers#script ) that could steal information that you type in etc. I'm realising now that NoScript will most likely block all these out. And we're not talking about just keyloggers either - we're talking about web-sites contaminated by screenloggers, clipboard loggers etc etc. In my opinion, NoScript is very powerful indeed.

Also, it suits my security setup/approach perfectly - as I implied, I use Firefox as my main browser, and it is forced sandboxed with Sandboxie. NoScript alone would protect me from script keyloggers. I then use IE 8 as my browser for sensitive browsing - anything I do is completely removed once I close IE 8, since I have configured Sandboxie to automatically delete when IE 8 closes. This means that any script keyloggers (or any malware for that matter) I may have picked up with IE 8 are completely deleted.

To conclude, against script keyloggers, my Firefox browser is protected by NoScript, while my IE browser is protected by the "security approach" of always deleting the sandbox on exiting.
ssj100
ssj100
Administrator
Administrator

https://ssj100.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Firefox Add-on: NoScript Empty Re: Firefox Add-on: NoScript

Post by Ruhe 19/4/2010, 14:33

I'm using NoScript - a must have addon for Firefox.
Ruhe
Ruhe
Valued Member
Valued Member

Back to top Go down

Post by ssj100 23/4/2010, 12:10